L'Isle-aux-Coudres is located in the heart of the St. Lawrence River, two kilometers from the north shore. In 1815, the absence of effective mills for grinding grains caused a famine on the island. Residents often had to travel to the north shore despite the dangerous boat crossings over the river, especially in winter! The Séminaire de Québec, Lord of the island approved the construction of a watermill. It was completed in 1825. However, over the years, the watermill produced low yields. This is why a windmill was built nearby in 1836.
A unique heritage place in Quebec
With the advent of industrial milling, our mills shut down in 1948. Classified according to the Law on Cultural Heritage in the early sixties, their second life began in 1982. Restored and located in close proximity to one another, the watermill and windmill form an exceptional and unique site in America. In the 80s, the mills were given a rejuvenation that respected the integrity of their character. Both are functional again.